European qualification for the 2022 World Cup finished, all playoff participants are known

place a bet

Yesterday, the European qualification for the World Cup 2022 came to an end. Winners of ten groups can now plan their visit to Qatar. They are Belgium, France, England, Spain, Denmark, Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland, Croatia and Serbia.

Ten runners-up of the groups go to the additional playoff stage, where also the two teams from Nations League (Austria and the Czech Republic) will participate. All 12 teams are divided into two brackets, and only three of them will fly to Qatar. The seeded are Portugal, Scotland, Italy, Sweden, Wales, and Russia. The unseeded teams are Ukraine, Turkey, Poland, North Macedonia, Austria, and the Czech Republic.

Read more: Italy drew with Northern Ireland and missed out on a direct ticket to the 2022 World Cup.

The first stage will be the duels between seeded and non-seeded squads, which will be played on the home ground of a stronger team and in a one-match format. Then, six winners of these duels will form three pairs, and the winners will proceed to Qatar.

Thus, there will be another two matches to win for the teams who want to go to the final stage of the World Cup 2022. The teams with the higher rating will host one-match duels. Want to know more about football and don’t miss the important news? Subscribe to and receive the latest updates to your email.

place a bet
Related Articles
Back to top button